This Week’s Hottest Releases: July 10 — July 16

This Week’s Hottest Releases: July 10 — July 16

Happy To Read Tuesday! Here we’re highlighting the 10 titles that our editors are most excited to add to their TBR shelves. For even more hot new releases, check out our Summer Previews for the best books coming out this season.

The Black Widow

You already know who Daniel Silva is. Chances are, you’ve also encountered his mega-famous protagonist by now, too—Gabriel Allon. In this new installment, Allon finds himself deeply entrenched in the investigation surrounding a bombing in Paris. Soon, the race is on. Allon and his associates Dina Sarid and Mikhail Abramov must find the terrorist responsible for the attack. The culprit is known by only one name: Saladin. Silva’s writing is informed by his time as a journalist in the Middle East, and many have remarked on the ways in which his writing captures some truths about ISIS. Don’t miss this adventure featuring what Kirkus calls “one of fiction’s greatest spies.”

Stranger, Father, Beloved

Family dynamics are one of the mainstays of great fiction: We all see ourselves at our best and our worst in tales of other families’ struggles. Taylor Larsen adds another gripping family drama to the canon with her debut, Stranger, Father, Beloved. The James family seems to have it all. They are comfortable and have a vibrant social life; you’d never guess from their outward appearances that anything was amiss. But Michael James struggles with mental illness which he must medicate, and in this novel, his symptoms begin to surface and boil over. Michael becomes convinced that his wife should be married to another man named John, and does everything in his power to set them up. This creates a strange dynamic indeed, and will keep readers turning pages long into the night.

Almighty

In case you couldn’t tell from the giant mushroom cloud on the cover, Dan Zak’s new book is about the United States’ nuclear arsenal. Zak recounts the true story of one night in 2012 when activists broke into a facility in Tennessee known as the “Fort Knox of Uranium.” As the facility’s name suggests, it was supposed to be very hard—even impossible—to break in. The successful break-in by civilians raised deeply troubling questions about what would happen if terrorists tried to infiltrate the facility and the death and destruction that could result. This book, ideal for fans of Command and Control, may raise your blood pressure, but will also inform readers on a topic of critical importance.

Tong Wars

Between 1890 and the 1930s, gang wars wracked Chinatown in New York City. Scott D. Seligman gives a fascinating account of the conflict in this new book that draws on impressive and extensive use of archived documents. Readers will encounter notorious gangsters, unthinkable violence, and deep-seated corruption in the fast-paced world of New York City in the early 20th century. Issues of race and immigration inform this narrative, and Seligman’s account is ultimately both fascinating and highly informative. History buffs, you won’t want to miss this one.

Heartbreaker

One look at the cover of Maryse Meijer’s debut book of stories tells you everything you need to know: These tales aren’t about the slow burn of love. They’re violent, consuming, and unconcerned with the rules; the stories in Heartbreaker have the sprawl and volatility of real life. Readers will be drawn to Meijer’s downright combustible characters, and perhaps be alarmed by how true, how human they really are. Kirkus raves, “Whether they’re seeking out sex or companionship, outrunning or embracing cruelty, the female characters in these 13 stories take all the air out of the room.” So take one last gulp of air, and dive in.

The Last One

In this suspenseful novel from Alexandra Oliva, In the Dark is the latest reality show to take the world by storm. Contestants are sent deep into the woods and forced to confront various challenges that test their strength, bravery, and intellect. The story centers on a contestant nicknamed Zoo by the show’s producers. She, like her fellow contestants, is completely cut off from civilization and thus unaware that a true disaster has struck. Convinced that everything is simply part of the strange game she’s decided to play, Zoo brushes off warning signs like towns devoid of all life and the rotting corpses that she comes across. This is a thrilling tale about reality and manipulation.

Daughters of the Bride

Sisters Courtney, Sienna, and Rachel are all returning to the small seaside town of Los Lobos, California to help plan their mother’s second wedding. They’re bringing a lot of baggage with them. Courtney has one goal for wedding: keep her steamy affair with a music producer secret from her family. Commitment-phobe Sienna has broken off two engagements in the past, and starts to feel flighty when her boyfriend proposes to her in front of her mom and sisters. Rachel is divorced and torn between giving her ex a second chance and moving on with her life. It simply isn’t summer without a Susan Mallery book in your beach bag, so don’t miss out on this heartwarming novel about family bonds and the power of love.

Shiny Broken Pieces

Readers loved Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton’s electrifying tale of ballerinas willing to do anything to achieve their dreams. Now, the girls are back and more determined than ever before. June, Bette, and Gigi are all competing for a place in the American Ballet Company. June’s confidence has grown since the first book, but she’s faced with a tough decision: Should she follow her dream or follow her heart? Bette is focused on clearing her name after she was suspended for bullying Gigi. Meanwhile, Gigi is consumed with the idea of revenge. She refuses to let Bette or any of the other girls get away with what they’ve done to her. Drama, dance, and delicious thrills await readers of this series!

The Crimson Skew

S.E. Grove’s Mapmakers series has everything a reader could want: exhilarating adventures, a world that’s both familiar and fantastic, and nuanced characters you’re eager to root for. In this final volume, Sophia is returning to Boston in hopes of reuniting with Theo and finally solving the mystery of what happened to her parents. But there’s a new danger on the horizon: a red fog called the Crimson Skew. If you inhale as much as a single breath of it, you’ll be driven to commit murder. Readers, hold your breath. This is one action-packed conclusion. Kirkus calls this trilogy “a prodigious feat of storytelling.” If you know a middle grade reader who loves fantasy, get this series into his or her hands immediately.

My Dad Used to Be So Cool

Keith Negley explores the sweet relationship between a father and son in this charming picture book. Before he was a father, this dad was pretty cool. He played in a band, rode a motorcycle, and even covered his arm in tattoos. But these days his life is much quieter. He plays at the playground rather than on the stage, and drives a sensible car that probably gets great gas mileage. The son wistfully looks at his dad’s old motorcycle, covered in leaves and sitting unused outside, and he studies his father’s tattoo sleeve. The boy wonders what his dad was like back in his cool days. This is an ideal gift for dads and curious readers who want to know who their parents were before they had a baby.

NO COMMENTS

Leave a Reply