Literary Tree Trimming: 20 Bookish Ornaments You Need on Your Christmas Tree

Literary Tree Trimming: 20 Bookish Ornaments You Need on Your Christmas Tree

I don’t know about any of you, but decorating the Christmas tree is one of my absolute favorite parts of the holiday season. There’s a Wizard of Oz ornament set I’ve had since I was little, and I always take special care when placing Dorothy, the Tin Man, the Cowardly Lion, and the Scarecrow on their respective branches. There are tons of other literary ornaments out there, though, and I think I need to make a few additions to take my Christmas tree to the next level.

There are tons of Harry Potter ornaments out there, but these are my new favorites. They’d make my tree, in a word, magical.

This elegant, golden mockingjay is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

Thomas Jefferson is quoted here saying he cannot live without books, and honestly I don’t think I can live without this ornament.

Look at these cuties! Every Pride and Prejudice fan should make room on their tree for these two.

This one reminds me of my TBR pile—towering.

With Drogon guarding your tree, the Grinch won’t be able to get near your presents.

It’ll be easy to deduce that you’re a fan of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s famous detective (and Benedict Cumberbatch) with these silhouette ornaments.

What better time than Christmas to hang Elvish decorations?

Treat yourself to an Alice-themed unbirthday present!

Holden would probably think putting his face on a heart-shaped ornament is phony, but I love it.

This one is a bit expensive, but frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.

I could eat this up I love it so!

Look at this nugget! He’s so festive! He’s about to sing some carols, munch on a few cookies, and then go terrorize a small resort town on Long Island.

This adorable Scrabble ornament can be customized with your favorite word.

This lil’ guy is perfect for readers who call themselves bookworms.

This book club ornament is too cool. It can be customized with the titles your group has read.

Libraries are the most comforting places on earth, especially when they’re guarded by lions.

Here’s hoping this Outlander-inspired ornament comes back in stock soon.

New Christmas goal: Get a mini tree and decorate it with mini books.

Haven’t seen an ornament on this list that tickles your fancy? This Etsy user will create an ornament from any book of your choosing! If the price for a custom piece is intimidating, check out her shop for cheaper options.

Kelly Gallucci
Far too busy rereading the Harry Potter series, Kelly finds that her greatest literary sin is that she neglected to read classics like The Shining and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. In between overseeing the editorial content for Bookish, holding interviews with authors like Isaac Marion and Lauren Beukes, and creating book recommendations for Kanye West—Kelly’s trying to catch up on the books she missed out on. She just finished The Great Gatsby and might be in love with Fitzg. Kelly received her B.A. in English Writing from Marist College and her M.A. in Screenwriting from National University of Ireland, Galway.


Leave a Reply