Hugo Award Nominees Highlight Ancillary Justice, Saga, and the Red Wedding

Hugo Award Nominees Highlight Ancillary Justice, Saga, and the Red Wedding

The 2014 Hugo Award nominees are an impressive bunch: This year, sci-fi and fantasy’s most prestigious awards are highlighting  Ancillary Justice, Six-Gun Snow White,  The Wheel of Time (yes, the entire series), Saga, and Game of Thrones‘ Red Wedding. What a range! In providing a look at the year’s best SFF, the Hugos span the entire spectrum of fandom, including essay collections (like Queers Dig Time Lords) and podcasts.

Read on for the full list of nominees, including everyones’ favorite clones TV series and a story from XKCD creator  Randall Munroe.

Best Novel

Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie
Neptune’s Brood, Charles Stross
Parasite, Mira Grant
Warbound, Book III of the Grimnoir Chronicles, Larry Correia
The Wheel of Time, Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson

Best Novella

“The Butcher of Khardov,” Dan Wells (Privateer Press)
“The Chaplain’s Legacy,” Brad Torgersen (Analog, Jul-Aug 2013)
“Equoid,” Charles Stross (, 09-2013)
Six-Gun Snow White, Catherynne M. Valente (Subterranean Press)
“Wakulla Springs,” Andy Duncan and Ellen Klages (, 10-2013)

Best Novelette

“Opera Vita Aeterna,” Vox Day (The Last Witchking, Marcher Lord Hinterlands)
“The Exchange Officers,” Brad Torgersen (Analog, Jan-Feb 2013)
“The Lady Astronaut of Mars,” Mary Robinette Kowal (, 09-2013)
“The Truth of Fact, the Truth of Feeling,” Ted Chiang (Subterranean, Fall 2013)
“The Waiting Stars,” Aliette de Bodard (The Other Half of the Sky, Candlemark & Gleam)

Best Short Story

“If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love,” Rachel Swirsky (Apex Magazine, Mar-2013)
“The Ink Readers of Doi Saket,” Thomas Olde Heuvelt (, 04-2013)
“Selkie Stories Are for Losers,” Sofia Samatar (Strange Horizons, Jan-2013)
“The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere,” John Chu (, 02-2013)

Best Related Work

Queers Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the LGBTQ Fans Who Love It, edited by Sigrid Ellis & Michael Damian Thomas
Speculative Fiction 2012: The Best Online Reviews, Essays and Commentary, Justin Landon & Jared Shurin
“We Have Always Fought: Challenging the Women, Cattle and Slaves Narrative,” Kameron Hurley
Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction, Jeff VanderMeer, with Jeremy Zerfoss
Writing Excuses Season 8, Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, and Jordan Sanderson

Best Graphic Story

Girl Genius, Volume 13: Agatha Heterodyne & The Sleeping City written by  Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright
“The Girl Who Loved Doctor Who,” written by Paul Cornell, illustrated by Jimmy Broxton
The Meathouse Man, adapted from the story by George R.R. Martin and illustrated by Raya Golden
Saga, Volume 2, written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples
“Time,” Randall Munroe

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Frozen, screenplay by Jennifer Lee, directed by Chris Buck & Jennifer Lee
Gravity, written by Alfonso Cuarón & Jonás Cuarón, directed by Alfonso Cuarón
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, screenplay by Simon Beaufoy & Michael Arndt, directed by Francis Lawrence
Iron Man 3, screenplay by Drew Pearce & Shane Black, directed by Shane Black
Pacific Rim, screenplay by Travis Beacham & Guillermo del Toro, directed by Guillermo del Toro

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

An Adventure in Space and Time, written by Mark Gatiss, directed by Terry McDonough
Doctor Who: “The Day of the Doctor,” written by Steven Moffat, directed by Nick Hurran
Doctor Who: “The Name of the Doctor,” written by Steven Moffat, directed by Saul Metzstein
The Five(ish) Doctors Reboot, written & directed by Peter Davison
Game of Thrones: “The Rains of Castamere,” written by David Benioff & D.B. Weiss, directed by David Nutter
Orphan Black: “Variations Under Domestication,” written by Will Pascoe, directed by John Fawcett

Best Editor, Short Form

John Joseph Adams
Neil Clarke
Ellen Datlow
Jonathan Strahan
Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form

Ginjer Buchanan
Sheila Gilbert
Liz Gorinsky
Lee Harris
Toni Weisskopf

Best Professional Artist

Galen Dara
Julie Dillon
Daniel Dos Santos
John Harris
John Picacio
Fiona Staples

Best Semiprozine

Apex Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas, Jason Sizemore, and Michael Damian Thomas
Beneath Ceaseless Skies, edited by Scott H. Andrews
Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
Lightspeed Magazine, edited by John Joseph Adams, Rich Horton, and Stefan Rudnicki
Strange Horizons, edited by Niall Harrison, Brit Mandelo, An Owomoyela, Julia Rios, Sonya Taaffe, Abigail Nussbaum, Rebecca Cross, Anaea Lay, and Shane Gavin

Best Fanzine

The Book Smugglers, edited by Ana Grilo and Thea James
A Dribble of Ink, edited by Aidan Moher
Elitist Book Reviews, edited by Steven Diamond
Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, Lynda E. Rucker, Pete Young, Colin Harris, and Helen J.Montgomery
Pornokitsch, edited by Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin

Best Fancast

The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe
Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch
SF Signal Podcast, Patrick Hester
The Skiffy and Fanty Show, Shaun Duke, Jen Zink, Julia Rios, Paul Weimer, David Annandale, Mike Underwood, and Stina Leicht
Tea and Jeopardy, Emma Newman
Verity!, Deborah Stanish, Erika Ensign, Katrina Griffiths, L.M. Myles, Lynne M. Thomas, and Tansy Rayner Roberts
The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond

Best Fan Writer

Liz Bourke
Kameron Hurley
Foz Meadows
Abigail Nussbaum
Mark Oshiro

Best Fan Artist

Brad W. Foster
Mandie Manzano
Spring Schoenhuth
Steve Stiles
Sarah Webb

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer
Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2012 or 2013, sponsored by Dell Magazines. (Not a Hugo Award, but administered along with the Hugo Awards.)

Wesley Chu
Max Gladstone*
Ramez Naam*
Sofia Samatar*
Benjanun Sriduangkaew

*Finalists in their second year of eligiblity.

The Retro-1939 Hugo Award nominees highlighted  Edgar Rice Burroughs‘  Carson of VenusAyn Rand‘s Anthem, and Ray Bradbury. The Hugo Award winners will be announced in August 2014.

Natalie Zutter
Seeing as Natalie spent her childhood reading Star Wars and Tamora Pierce novels, she’s used to being the token geek at anything from celebrity websites to book websites. (Though she’s also a recent romance convert!) A graduate of NYU's Gallatin School of Individualized Study, she stages plays about superheroes, sex robots, and Internet fandom in her spare time. As a pop culture blogger, she has written for, Crushable, Quirk Books, BlackBook, and other outlets.


Leave a Reply