This Week’s Hottest Releases: July 2 — July 8

This Week’s Hottest Releases: July 2 — July 8

Happy To Read Tuesday! Here we’re highlighting the eight titles that our editors are most excited to add to their TBR shelves. For even more hot new releases, check out our Summer Previews for the best books coming out this season.

Out in the Open

A boy escaping his home must journey through an apocalyptic landscape that has been decimated by violence and drought. On his way, he meets a man who herds goats, and their friendship will change both of their lives forever. For readers who loved Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, Jesús Carrasco’s Out in the Open will hit some of the same notes. Margaret Jull Costa translated this work into English, where the book is sure to find broad readership—especially among those who enjoy dystopian novels.


BUY

All Our Waves Are Water

Surf’s up, readers. Jaimal Yogis’ new memoir will take you on a journey of surfing and spiritual growth. In a starred review, Publishers Weekly writes “Yogis shows that the search for enlightenment, with its storms, lulls, and occasional thrills, is not much different from the search for the perfect wave.” If you’ve been dreaming of the sand and surf ever since finishing Barbarian Days, or if you like books that take on subjects of faith and spirituality, then All Our Waves Are Water will have you thinking “Cowabunga!”

A Game of Ghosts

Readers of John Connolly’s Charlie Parker series, you’re in luck. This week, the 15th installment hits shelves, and it doesn’t disappoint. Detectives usually solve mysteries, but in this novel, one named Jaycob Eklund goes missing and it falls to Charlie Parker to track him down. Eklund had been working on strange cases prior to his disappearance. He was investigating several murders that seem a little… haunted. Soon, Parker finds himself in the middle of a dangerous situation as he hunts for Eklund. Readers who love mysteries with a paranormal twist, look no further.

Lost Boy

Are you a Peter Pan superfan? We thought so. (Us, too.) Christina Henry’s new novel tells the tale of a well-known character from the beloved tale: Captain Hook. Hook, as it turns out, began as a Lost Boy and a very close friend of Peter Pan’s. What happened to turn him into a villain? You’ll have to read this book to find out. Readers may find themselves questioning everything they think they know about their favorite characters, and seeing the original story in a whole new light.

Wired

FBI agent Liam Scott knows that there’s a traitor in his department who has been leaking important information. He decides to hire a hacker who can discretely get into the FBI servers to find out who it is—too bad his best shot wants nothing to do with him. Allison Trent is a computer genius, though her record is far from clean and the last thing she needs is the FBI looking at her a bit too closely. But when her family gets into trouble, she decides to strike a deal with Liam. Readers looking to get lost in a thrilling romance will definitely want to pick up Julie Garwood’s latest.

Words on Bathroom Walls

Adam has been living with schizophrenia for years and struggling to manage it. His hallucinations take the form of human begins, and he can’t always tell the difference between them and the real people around him. But there’s a chance that a new drug could change everything. While taking ToZaPrex, Adam finally feels in control of his life. He relaxes at school, starts to make friends, and begins to date. Then the drug begins to fail. We named this a must-read summer book for Julia Walton’s sensitive portrayal of an illness that is misunderstood by many.

Pretty

Justin Sayre blew middle grade readers away with Husky and now he’s back to tell the story of Sophie, David’s best friend. At school Sophie is known for being pretty, but her home life is anything but. Her mother is an alcoholic who lights up the world when she’s happy and is terrifying when she isn’t. When Sophie’s mom heads off to Paris on assignment, Sophie is put into the care of her aunt Amara, who teaches Sophie about music, her heritage, and the true meaning of beauty.


BUY

Super Manny Stands Up!

What does it truly mean to be a superhero? Does it mean wearing a cape and performing feats of strength or does it mean standing up to speak even when you’re scared? Every day after school, Manny puts on a cape and pretends to vanquish villains and monsters. But his hero status is put to the test when a lunchroom bully begins to pick on a fellow student. Manny doesn’t feel fearless or strong, and he still stands up and tells the bully to stop, because he realizes that it’s his duty as a superhero to help. His words inspire other classmates who find their own voices and help Manny to stop the bully in his tracks.

NO COMMENTS

Leave a Reply