Journey to the Past: A Historical Fiction Giveaway

Journey to the Past: A Historical Fiction Giveaway

Do you love historical fiction as much as we do? If so, you’re in for a treat. We can’t wait to share The Butcher’s Daughter by Victoria Glendinning and The Optickal Illusion by Rachel Halliburton with you, so we’re partnering with The Overlook Press to give 15 lucky Bookish readers a copy of each—before they go on sale! Check out the books’ official descriptions and enter to win below.

The Optickal Illusion by Rachel Halliburton

In this vividly fashioned debut, Rachel Halliburton draws from the sordid details of a genuine scandal that deceived the British Royal Academy to deliver a stirring tale about the elusive goal of achieving artistic renown. It is 1797 and in Georgian London, nothing is certain anymore: The future of the monarchy is in question, the city is aflame with conspiracies, and the French could invade any day. Amidst this feverish atmosphere, the American painter Benjamin West is visited by a dubious duo comprised of a blundering father and vibrant daughter, the Provises, who claim they have a secret that has obsessed painters for centuries: the Venetian techniques of master painter Titian. West was once the most celebrated painter in London, but he hasn’t produced anything of note in years, so against his better judgment he agrees to let the intriguing Ann Jemima Provis visit his studio and demonstrate the techniques from the document. What unravels reveals more than West has ever understood—about himself, the treachery of the art world, and the seductive promise of greatness. Rich in period detail of a meticulously crafted Georgian society, The Optickal Illusion demonstrates the lengths women must go to make their mark on a male-dominated society.

The Butcher’s Daughter by Victoria Glendinning

In 1535, England is hardly a wellspring of gender equality; it is a grim and oppressive age where women—even the privileged few who can read and write—have little independence. In The Butcher’s Daughter, it is this milieu that mandates Agnes Peppin, daughter of a simple country butcher, must leave her family home in disgrace and live out her days cloistered behind the walls of the Shaftesbury Abbey. But with her great intellect, she becomes the assistant to the Abbess and integrates herself into the unstable royal landscape of King Henry VIII. As Agnes grapples with the complex rules and hierarchies of her new life, King Henry VIII proclaims himself the new head of the Church. Religious houses are formally subjugated and monasteries dissolved, and the great Abbey is no exception to the purge. The cosseted world in which Agnes has carved out for herself a sliver of liberty is shattered. Now, free at last to be the master of her own fate, she descends into a world she knows little about, using her wits and testing her moral convictions against her need to survive by any means necessary… The Butcher’s Daughter is the riveting story of a young woman overcoming obstacles. This dark and affecting novel by award-winning author Victoria Glendinning intricately depicts the lives of women in the sixteenth century in a world dominated by men. This book is perfect for fans of Wolf Hall and Philippa Gregory.

Prizes and samples provided by The Overlook Press.

Trouble using the form above? Enter here!

Official Giveaway Rules

The following are the Official Contest Rules for Bookish’s Historical Fiction Giveaway (the “Contest”). Bookish is a division of NetGalley LLC, 44 Merrimac Street, Newburyport, MA 01950 (“Bookish”).

By entering this Sweepstakes, you agree to be bound by these Official Sweepstakes Rules. No Purchase is necessary.

To Enter

To enter the Contest, fill out the entry form on the giveaway page. You will automatically be signed up for the Bookish newsletter. If you do not want to receive Bookish’s newsletter, you may opt out at any time.

Eligibility

The Sweepstakes is open to any person over 17 years of age, who resides in the United States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands or a U.S. Military installation in a foreign country, excluding employees and consultants of Bookish and their subsidiaries and affiliates, and their immediate family members. It is void where prohibited by law.

How to Enter

Entries must be submitted beginning at 12:01 a.m. Eastern Standard Time on May 14, 2018, and no later than 12:01 a.m. Eastern Standard Time, on May 28, 2018.

You may enter one time per person. You must use the entry form supplied by Bookish. Bookish shall not be responsible for lost or interrupted mail or email, lost, interrupted, or unavailable network, server or other connections, miscommunications, failed phone or computer hardware or software or telephone transmissions or technical failures, garbled or jumbled transmissions or other errors of any kind, whether human, mechanical or electronic, including, without limitation, the incorrect or inaccurate capture of entry information online. Entry materials and/or data that have been tampered with or altered are void.

Selection of Winners

Prizes shall be awarded based on a random drawing from among the eligible entries. Bookish shall determine in its sole discretion the method of selecting winners from among the entries and its determination shall be final and binding.

Prizes

Fifteen (15) winners shall each receive one (1) copy of The Butcher’s Daughter by Victoria Glendinning and (1) copy of The Optickal Illusion by Rachel Halliburton.

Bookish will send the prize won by the winner to the address indicated by the winner in his/her/their entry. Bookish will mail the prize or use another delivery service as it shall determine. Bookish shall pay all costs of postage and handling.

The suggested retail value of each prize, excluding shipping and handling, is not more than $58. The total value of all prizes to be awarded is not more than $870.

No prize substitutions shall be allowed. Winners are responsible for federal, state and local taxes, if  any, on any prizes awarded.

Odds of Winning

Odds of winning depend on the number of eligible entries received by Bookish.

Indemnification

By entering the Sweepstakes, you agree to indemnify and hold harmless Bookish, and its employees, representatives, agents and licensees from any and all liability, loss, damage, cost or expense, including reasonable counsel fees and expenses, paid or incurred by reason of your breach or alleged breach of any of the obligations, covenants, representations or terms contained in these Official Rules.

More Information

For a complete list of winners, send a request and a self-addressed stamped envelope to Sweepstakes, NetGalley LLC, 44 Merrimac Street, Newburyport, MA 01950, no later than 60 days from end of the Sweepstakes.

NO COMMENTS

Leave a Reply