Search-icon

Zeno's Conscience

By

Hardcover published by Everyman's Library (Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group)

13 Ratings. What's Yours?
Histogram_reset_icon
(8 REVIEWS)
ADD TO MY SHELF
About This Book
Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zeno’s interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected–and unexpectedly happy–marriage to Ada’s homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zeno’s Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.
Show less
Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zeno’s interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected–and unexpectedly happy–marriage to Ada’s homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zeno’s Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.
Product Details
Hardcover (496 pages)
Published: November 6, 2001
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Imprint: Everyman's Library
ISBN: 9780375413308
Other books byItalo Svevo
  • As a Man Grows Older

    As a Man Grows Older

    A Life

    A Life
    Reprinted with a new cover in B format, A Life is the gruelling tale of the frustrated existence of a bank clerk with a poetic soul. The artistic aspirations of the protagonist and the emptiness of his daily life become tragic in the great divide between what he wants and what he actually has and gets. Alfonso the bank clerk wants to be a poet and seems to be falling in love with Annetta, the vain and arrogant daughter of his boss. But the emptiness of both his attempts at writing and at love lead to an ironic and painful conclusion.

    The Nice Old Man and the Pretty Girl

    The Nice Old Man and the Pretty Girl
    ...the sin of an old man is equal to about two sins of a young man. The fable-like story of an old man's sexual obsession with a young woman is a distillation of Italo Svevo's concerns--attraction of an older man to a younger woman, individual conscience versus social convention, and the cost of sexual desire. This novella is a marvel of psychological insight, following the man's vacillations and tortuous self-justifications to their tragic-comic end. It is presented here in a translation first commissioned and published by Virginia Woolf for her Hogarth Press. The Art of The Novella Series Too short to be a novel, too long to be a short story, the novella is generally unrecognized by academics and publishers. Nonetheless, it is a form beloved and practiced by literature's greatest writers. In the Art Of The Novella series, Melville House celebrates this renegade art form and its practitioners with titles that are, in many instances, presented in book form for the first time. From the Trade Paperback edition.

    A Perfect Hoax

    A Perfect Hoax
    Influenced by the rise of the science of psychology and the turmoil of the early 20th century, A Perfect Hoax is an ironic and affectionate story of illusion, self-deception, and impracticality in a practical world. Mario Samigli is in his seventies; he has all but given up his cherished aspirations as a writer and smiles at the world through his one remaining literary outlet—fables. When a travelling salesman with a taste for practical jokes persuades him that a Viennese publishing company wants to translate his early failed novel, Mario is caught in a fantasy of success and fame, and neglects his beloved invalid brother. A Perfect Hoax follows the elaborate prank as it escalates, forcing Mario blindly down a road that can only lead to disappointment.

Favorite QuotesFROM THIS BOOK
  • Ik ben de arts over wie in dit verhaal in soms wenig vleiende bewoordingen wordt gesproken.

    — submitted by Flag This Quote For Review
  • Io sono il dottore di cui in questa novella si parla talvolta con parole poco lusinghiere. Chi di psico-analisi s'intende, sa dove piazzare l'antipatia che il paziente mi dedica.

    — submitted by Flag This Quote For Review
  • Misunderstanding women is a clear sign of scant virility.

    — submitted by Flag This Quote For Review
  • Er zal een geweldige explosie komen, die niemand zal horen, en de aarde, tot zijn nevelvorm teruggekeerd, zal door de ruimte zweven, vrij van parasieten en ziekten.

    — submitted by Flag This Quote For Review
  • Ci sarà un'esplosione enorme che nessuno udrà e la terra ritornata alla forma di nebulosa errerà nei cieli priva di parassiti e di malattie.

    — submitted by Flag This Quote For Review
Quote Cannot be Empty

Submitted quotes are usually posted within 48 hours

ThanksYour Quote Will be posted Shortly
Bookish