Search-icon

Vanished Smile

The Mysterious Theft of the Mona Lisa

By

Paperback published by Random House Large Print (Diversified Publishing)

12 Ratings. What's Yours?
Histogram_reset_icon
(10 REVIEWS)
ADD TO MY SHELF
About This Book
On August 21, 1911, Leonardo da Vinci’s most celebrated painting vanished from the Louvre. The prime suspects were as shocking as the crime: Pablo Picasso and Guillaume Apollinaire, young provocateurs of a new art.
 
The sensational disappearing act captured the world’s imagination. Crowds stood in line to view the empty space on the museum wall. Thousands more waited, as concerned as if Mona Lisa were a missing person, for news of the lost painting. Almost a century later, questions still linger: Who really pinched Mona Lisa, and why? Part love story, part mystery, Vanished Smile reopens the puzzling case that transformed a Renaissance portrait into the most enduring icon of all time.
Show less
On August 21, 1911, Leonardo da Vinci’s most celebrated painting vanished from the Louvre. The prime suspects were as shocking as the crime: Pablo Picasso and Guillaume Apollinaire, young provocateurs of a new art.
 
The sensational disappearing act captured the world’s imagination. Crowds stood in line to view the empty space on the museum wall. Thousands more waited, as concerned as if Mona Lisa were a missing person, for news of the lost painting. Almost a century later, questions still linger: Who really pinched Mona Lisa, and why? Part love story, part mystery, Vanished Smile reopens the puzzling case that transformed a Renaissance portrait into the most enduring icon of all time.
Product Details
Paperback (352 pages)
Published: April 7, 2009
Publisher: Diversified Publishing
Imprint: Random House Large Print
ISBN: 9780739328361
Other books byR.A. Scotti
  • Sudden Sea

    Sudden Sea
    The Great Hurricane of 1938
    In the tradition of "The Perfect Storm, Sudden Sea" harkens back to a natural disaster that struck terror in the hearts of many. In this narrative, readers experience The Great Hurricane of 1938, the most financially destructive storm on record.

Favorite QuotesFROM THIS BOOK
  • According to the song, it's not supposed to rain when it's April in Paris, but the day was wet and raw.

    — submitted by Flag This Quote For Review
  • It is bemusing and comforting to know that when the last camera has flashed and the last ogler has turned away, when the Louvre alarms are blinking and night falls over the mansard roofs...

    — submitted by Flag This Quote For Review
Quote Cannot be Empty

Submitted quotes are usually posted within 48 hours

ThanksYour Quote Will be posted Shortly
Bookish