Search-icon

The Opposite of Hallelujah

By

Hardcover published by Delacorte Press (Random House Children's Books)

14 Ratings. What's Yours?
Histogram_reset_icon
(5 REVIEWS)
ADD TO MY SHELF
About This Book
Does one sister’s past change another sister’s future?

Caro Mitchell considers herself an only child—and she likes it that way. After all, her older sister, Hannah, left home eight years ago, and Caro barely remembers her. So when Hannah returns to live with them, Caro feels as if an interloper is crashing her family. To her, Hannah’s a total stranger who refuses to talk about her life or why she went away. Caro can’t understand why her parents cut her sister so much slack, and why they’re not pushing for answers.
Angry and upset, Caro resorts to telling lies about her sister’s mysterious reappearance. But when those lies alienate her new boyfriend and put her on the outs with her friends and parents, she seeks solace from an unexpected source. And when she unearths a clue about Hannah’s past, Caro begins to see her sister in a whole new light.

"Jarzab packs a lot into this story, questions of faith and forgiveness, science and religion, mental illness, guilt and possible redemption, as well as simple high school drama. But at its heart, this is a story about sisters."--Booklist, starred

"A layered meditation on family and belief that will ring true for faith-questing teens."--Kirkus Reviews
Show less
Does one sister’s past change another sister’s future?

Caro Mitchell considers herself an only child—and she likes it that way. After all, her older sister, Hannah, left home eight years ago, and Caro barely remembers her. So when Hannah returns to live with them, Caro feels as if an interloper is crashing her family. To her, Hannah’s a total stranger who refuses to talk about her life or why she went away. Caro can’t understand why her parents cut her sister so much slack, and why they’re not pushing for answers.
Angry and upset, Caro resorts to telling lies about her sister’s mysterious reappearance. But when those lies alienate her new boyfriend and put her on the outs with her friends and parents, she seeks solace from an unexpected source. And when she unearths a clue about Hannah’s past, Caro begins to see her sister in a whole new light.

"Jarzab packs a lot into this story, questions of faith and forgiveness, science and religion, mental illness, guilt and possible redemption, as well as simple high school drama. But at its heart, this is a story about sisters."--Booklist, starred

"A layered meditation on family and belief that will ring true for faith-questing teens."--Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
Hardcover (464 pages)
Published: October 9, 2012
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Imprint: Delacorte Press
ISBN: 9780385907248
Other books byAnna Jarzab
  • Tandem

    Tandem
    Fans of Matched, Across the Universe, and The Hunger Games will love this captivating tale of rebellion and romance that spans parallel worlds. Everything repeats. You. Your best friend. Every person you know. Many worlds, many lives--infinite possibilities. Welcome to the multiverse. Sixteen-year-old Sasha Lawson has only ever known one small, ordinary life. When she was young, she loved her grandfather's stories of parallel worlds, inhabited by girls who looked like her but led totally different lives. Sasha never believed such worlds were real—until now, when she finds herself thrust into one against her will. To prevent imminent war, Sasha must slip into the life of an alternate version of herself, a princess who has vanished on the eve of her arranged marriage. If Sasha succeeds in fooling everyone, she will be returned home; if she fails, she'll be trapped in another girl's life forever. As time runs out, Sasha finds herself torn between two worlds, two lives, and two young men vying for her love—one who knows her secret, and one who believes she's someone she's not.    

    All Unquiet Things

    All Unquiet Things
    A riveting thriller set at a California prep school! Carly: She was sweet. Smart. Self-destructive. She knew the secrets of Brighton Day School’s most privileged students. Secrets that got her killed. Neily: Dumped by Carly for a notorious bad boy, Neily didn’t answer the phone call she made before she died. If he had, maybe he could have helped her. Now he can’t get the image of her lifeless body out of his mind. Audrey: She’s the reason Carly got tangled up with Brighton’s fast crowd in the first place, and now she regrets it—especially since she’s convinced the police have put the wrong person in jail. Audrey thinks the murderer is someone at Brighton, and she wants Neily to help her find out who it is. As reluctant allies Neily and Audrey dig into their shared past with Carly, her involvement with Brighton’s dark goings-on comes to light. But figuring out how Carly and her killer fit into the twisted drama will force Audrey and Neily to face hard truths about themselves and the girl they couldn’t save. From the Hardcover edition.

Favorite QuotesFROM THIS BOOK
Quote Cannot be Empty

Submitted quotes are usually posted within 48 hours

ThanksYour Quote Will be posted Shortly
Bookish