Search-icon

The Fran Lebowitz Reader

By

eBook published by Vintage (Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group)

Larger Image
6 Ratings. What's Yours?
Histogram_reset_icon
(3 REVIEWS)
ADD TO MY SHELF
About This Book
Fran Lebowitz in
Public Speaking
A Martin Scorsese Picture
Now an HBO® Documentary Film

The Fran Lebowitz Reader
brings together in one volume, with a new preface, two bestsellers, Metropolitan Life and Social Studies, by an "important humorist in the classic tradition" (The New York Times Book Review) who is "the natural successor to Dorothy Parker" (British Vogue). In "elegant, finely honed prose" (The Washington Post Book World), Lebowitz limns the vicissitudes of contemporary urban life—its fads, trends, crazes, morals, and fashions. By turns ironic, facetious, deadpan, sarcastic, wry, wisecracking, and waggish, she is always wickedly entertaining.
Show less
Fran Lebowitz in
Public Speaking
A Martin Scorsese Picture
Now an HBO® Documentary Film

The Fran Lebowitz Reader
brings together in one volume, with a new preface, two bestsellers, Metropolitan Life and Social Studies, by an "important humorist in the classic tradition" (The New York Times Book Review) who is "the natural successor to Dorothy Parker" (British Vogue). In "elegant, finely honed prose" (The Washington Post Book World), Lebowitz limns the vicissitudes of contemporary urban life—its fads, trends, crazes, morals, and fashions. By turns ironic, facetious, deadpan, sarcastic, wry, wisecracking, and waggish, she is always wickedly entertaining.
Product Details
eBook (352 pages)
Published: July 6, 2011
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Imprint: Vintage
ISBN: 9780307744937
Other books byFran Lebowitz
  • Metropolitan Life and Social Studies

    Metropolitan Life and Social Studies
    The First ICP Triennial of Photography and Video
    From the pen of Fran Lebowitz: "Special-interest publications should realize that if they are attracting enough advertising and readers to make a profit, the interest is not so special." "The opposite of talking isn't listening. The opposite of talking is waiting." "Humility is no substitute for a good personality." "When you leave New York, you are astonished at how clean the rest of the world is. Clean is not enough." "If you are of the opinion that the contemplation of suicide is sufficient evidence of a poetic nature, do not forget that actions speak louder than words." "I do not believe in God. I believe in cashmere." From a woman who considers herself a lazy writer and who once said, "Your life story would not make a good book. Don't even try," comes this new volume, which brings back into print two of her most celebrated collections of essays. Written in the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Fran Lebowitz's hilariously acerbic Metropolitan Lifeand Social Studiesare classics of their genre. In them Lebowitz does what she does best, caustically portraying the vicissitudes of contemporary urban life--its fads, trends, crazes, morals and fashions. By turns ironic, facetious, deadpan, sarcastic, wry, wisecracking and waggish, she is always wickedly entertaining.

    Peter Hujar

    Peter Hujar

Favorite QuotesFROM THIS BOOK
Quote Cannot be Empty

Submitted quotes are usually posted within 48 hours

ThanksYour Quote Will be posted Shortly
Bookish