Search-icon

Requiem for a Paper Bag

Celebrities and Civilians Tell Stories of the Best Lost, Tossed, and Found Items from Around the World

By

Paperback published by Touchstone (Touchstone)

have you read it? rate it!
Histogram_reset_icon
ADD TO MY SHELF
About This Book
Hey! My name is Davy. I make a magazine called Found. We publish notes & letters that folks find on the street.

I asked my favorite writers, musicians, artists & entertainers to tell me about the things they've found.

These are the stories they've shared.
Show less
Hey! My name is Davy. I make a magazine called Found. We publish notes & letters that folks find on the street.

I asked my favorite writers, musicians, artists & entertainers to tell me about the things they've found.

These are the stories they've shared.
Product Details
Paperback (256 pages)
Published: May 5, 2009
Publisher: Touchstone
Imprint: Touchstone
ISBN: 9781416560548
Other books byDavy Rothbart
  • My Heart Is an Idiot

    My Heart Is an Idiot
    Essays
    Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets—and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. He’s continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don’t work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. Whether it’s humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits. But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, it’s his prose that’s the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.

    Found

    Found
    Found
    Discarded valentines. Ransom notes. To-do lists. Diaries. Homework assignments. A break-up letter written on the back of an airsickness bag. Whether they are found on buses, at stores, in restaurants, waiting rooms, parking lots, or even prison yards, these items give readers an uncensored, poignant, and often hilarious peek into other people's lives. By collecting them in his hit magazine, Found (and its companion website, www.foundmagazine.com), Davy Rothbart has bewitched the nation with a surprising window into its heart and soul and turned his many readers into an army of sharp-eyed finders. Found is chock-full of the latest and greatest of these finds, arranged in the style of the magazine, laying bare the tantalizing tales to be discovered in the trash we toss. By turns heartbreaking and hysterically funny, Found is a mesmerizing tribute to everyday life and our eternal curiosity about our fellow human beings.

    The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas

    The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas
    Stories
    In The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas, Davy Rothbart's stories grow out of road trips and small towns and are populated by questionable heroes and gold-hearted thugs. Full of loneliness and hope, heartbreak and humor, Rothbart's tales blaze their way from midwestern farm fields to state prisons and border-town brothels. Much like the lost, tossed, and forgotten items Rothbart collected in his acclaimed book, Found, the stories in The Lone Surfer of Montana, Kansas capture the oddity, poetry, and dignity of everyday life.

    Dialogue

    Dialogue
    The Fine Art of Conversation
    dialogue/the fine art of conversation : a 308 page/archival/hard bound volume featuring over 68 leading artists including jordin isip, cathie bleck, joel nakamura, and many more. the book features original letters, notes, scribbles and related artistic responses and imaginative paintings. any lover of fine art or literature is sure to enjoy this high quality, beautiful crafted and reproduced book that features a silk ribbon marker.

Favorite QuotesFROM THIS BOOK
Quote Cannot be Empty

Submitted quotes are usually posted within 48 hours

ThanksYour Quote Will be posted Shortly
Bookish