Search-icon

Not Exactly a Love Story

By

Paperback published by Ember (Random House Children's Books)

10 Ratings. What's Yours?
Histogram_reset_icon
(9 REVIEWS)
ADD TO MY SHELF
About This Book
“A fifteen-year-old creates an alter ego to woo his dream girl. Compulsively readable.” —The New York Times
 
This quirky, flirty, and smart story will appeal to fans of Frank Portman’s King Dork, John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines, and Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park. It’s not exactly a love story . . . but it’s pretty close.
 
It’s 1977. Fifteen-year-old Vinnie is recovering from the worst case of acne his dermatologist’s ever seen. His girl moved to California without saying good-bye. And the ink on his parents’ divorce papers is barely dry when his mom announces they’re moving from Queens to Long Island. The silver lining? Moving next door to Patsy, everyone’s dream girl. Not that she’d ever notice him. But when Vinnie calls Patsy one night, it leads to a chain of anonymous midnight conversations, and the two develop a surprisingly strong connection despite the lies it’s built on. But as Vinnie gets to know Patsy in real life, it’s clear that both identities can’t survive. . . .
Show less
“A fifteen-year-old creates an alter ego to woo his dream girl. Compulsively readable.” —The New York Times
 
This quirky, flirty, and smart story will appeal to fans of Frank Portman’s King Dork, John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines, and Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park. It’s not exactly a love story . . . but it’s pretty close.
 
It’s 1977. Fifteen-year-old Vinnie is recovering from the worst case of acne his dermatologist’s ever seen. His girl moved to California without saying good-bye. And the ink on his parents’ divorce papers is barely dry when his mom announces they’re moving from Queens to Long Island. The silver lining? Moving next door to Patsy, everyone’s dream girl. Not that she’d ever notice him. But when Vinnie calls Patsy one night, it leads to a chain of anonymous midnight conversations, and the two develop a surprisingly strong connection despite the lies it’s built on. But as Vinnie gets to know Patsy in real life, it’s clear that both identities can’t survive. . . .
Product Details
Paperback (288 pages)
Published: July 22, 2014
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Imprint: Ember
ISBN: 9780375866067
Other books byAudrey Couloumbis
  • The Misadventures of Maude March

    The Misadventures of Maude March
    Eleven-year-old Sallie March is a whip-smart tomboy and voracious reader of Western adventure novels. When she and her sister Maude escape their self-serving guardians for the wilds of the frontier, they begin an adventure the likes of which Sallie has only read about. This time however, the "wanted woman" isn't a dime-novel villian, it's Sallie's very own sister! What follows is not the lies the papers printed, but the honest-to-goodness truth of how two sisters went from being orphans to being outlaws—and lived to tell the tale!

    Getting Near to Baby

    Getting Near to Baby
    A Southern charmer for fans of Newbery Honor book Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage Audrey Couloumbis's masterful debut novel brings to mind Karen Hesse, Katherine Paterson, and Betsy Byars's The Summer of the Swans—it is a story you will never forget.  Willa Jo and Little Sister are up on the roof at Aunt Patty’s house. Willa Jo went up to watch the sunrise, and Little Sister followed, like she always does. But by mid-morning, they are still up on that roof, and soon it’s clear it wasn’t just the sunrise that brought them there.  The trouble is, coming down would mean they’d have to explain, and they just can’t find the words.  This is a funny, sometimes heartbreaking, story about sisters, about grief, and about healing.  Two girls must come to terms with the death of their baby sister, their mother’s unshakable depression, and the ridiculously controlling aunt who takes them in and means well but just doesn’t understand children. Willa Jo has to try and make things right in their new home, but she and Aunt Patty keep butting heads. Until the morning the two girls climb up to the roof of her house. Aunt Patty tries everything she can think of to get them down, but in the end, the solution is miraculously simple. A Newbery Honor Book An ALA Notable Book A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

    Say Yes

    Say Yes
    When twelve-year-old Casey's sole guardian--her stepmother Sylvia--doesn't come home one night, Casey believes she's run off with her boyfriend. The question is--will Sylvia come back? And even more urgent--how will Casey fend for herself in their New York City apartment. Paulie, the landlord's teenage foster son, offers to forge Sylvia's signature on the rent check, but his help comes at a price. And if Casey says yes to his proposition, she'll be breaking the law, taking her first step into a life of running to escape the police. And if she says no? Well, Casey's witnessed firsthand the perils of being a foster kid at the mercy of a system that has already failed Paulie. Say Yes is the unforgettable story of a preteen on her own, bravely making choices for the first time in her life.

    Lexie

    Lexie
    Ten-year-old Lexie used to love going to the shore. For as long as she can remember, she's spent every summer there with her parents, eating hamburgers, swimming in the ocean, and combing the beach for treasure.  This summer is going to be different though. Lexie's mom and daddy are divorced, and for the first time Mom won't be there. To make matters worse, Daddy has a surprise—his new girlfriend, Vicky, and her two sons are coming to stay with them for a week!  Now Lexie has to share her house with perky Vicky, Vicky's moody teenage son Ben, and messy three-year-old Harris. The little beach house just doesn't seem big enough for so many people. Is there still room for Lexie? In a voice that's sharp, funny, and sincere, Newbery Honor-winning author Audrey Couloumbis tells the story of a girl discovering that if you pay attention, sometimes you can find treasure in the most unlikely places.

Favorite QuotesFROM THIS BOOK
Quote Cannot be Empty

Submitted quotes are usually posted within 48 hours

ThanksYour Quote Will be posted Shortly
Bookish