Search-icon

No Child of Mine

A Novel

By

Paperback published by Ballantine Books (Random House Publishing Group)

have you read it? rate it!
Histogram_reset_icon
ADD TO MY SHELF
About This Book
From internationally bestselling British author Susan Lewis comes an unflinching, thoroughly suspenseful novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—about the darkest secrets a family can hide.
 
Alex Lake’s life is centered on helping people. Her job as a social worker in a British seaside town is more than a career: It’s the very essence of who she is. And though there are frustrations, Alex takes to heart the rewards of placing a child in a safe and loving home. But when she encounters three-year-old Ottilie Wade, Alex is completely unprepared for the effect the sweet, shy little girl has on her. Though on the surface Ottilie seems to want for nothing—she’s perfectly healthy and lives in a very nice home—she’s mysteriously silent and asocial. Alex knows that something is not right in the Wade house. And the deeper she looks into the case, the more Alex comes to feel that she and Ottilie are being drawn together by fate.
 
As disturbing evidence mounts and Alex’s superiors seem unwilling to help, Alex knows she will have to risk everything—her job and the life she loves—to save Ottilie. But Alex will also have to wrestle the demons of her own past before she can secure a future for this child in need.

Praise for No Child of Mine
 
“Spellbinding . . . The atmosphere grows more intense with the turn of each page, right up to the dramatic climax.”—Fredericksburg Free Lance–Star
 
“Susan Lewis’s storyline is both heartbreaking and heartwarming. . . . Susan writes with sensitivity, compassion and hope.”—Fresh Fiction

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
Show less
From internationally bestselling British author Susan Lewis comes an unflinching, thoroughly suspenseful novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—about the darkest secrets a family can hide.
 
Alex Lake’s life is centered on helping people. Her job as a social worker in a British seaside town is more than a career: It’s the very essence of who she is. And though there are frustrations, Alex takes to heart the rewards of placing a child in a safe and loving home. But when she encounters three-year-old Ottilie Wade, Alex is completely unprepared for the effect the sweet, shy little girl has on her. Though on the surface Ottilie seems to want for nothing—she’s perfectly healthy and lives in a very nice home—she’s mysteriously silent and asocial. Alex knows that something is not right in the Wade house. And the deeper she looks into the case, the more Alex comes to feel that she and Ottilie are being drawn together by fate.
 
As disturbing evidence mounts and Alex’s superiors seem unwilling to help, Alex knows she will have to risk everything—her job and the life she loves—to save Ottilie. But Alex will also have to wrestle the demons of her own past before she can secure a future for this child in need.

Praise for No Child of Mine
 
“Spellbinding . . . The atmosphere grows more intense with the turn of each page, right up to the dramatic climax.”—Fredericksburg Free Lance–Star
 
“Susan Lewis’s storyline is both heartbreaking and heartwarming. . . . Susan writes with sensitivity, compassion and hope.”—Fresh Fiction

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
Product Details
Paperback (560 pages)
Published: May 14, 2013
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Imprint: Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780345547750
Other books bySusan Lewis
  • Cruel Venus

    Cruel Venus
    Allyson Jaymes has it all—celebrity, power, and a glamorous marriage. Until her world is destroyed by the bitterest betrayal of all: her husband's explosive affair with her 19-year-old assistant, Tessa Dukes. Tessa's ambitions burn fiercely. Her chilling manipulation of fame and her steady destruction of so many dreams and ambitions lead all concerned into a fatal minefield of sexual obsession, psychotic jealousy, and deadly treachery. Moving from the dazzling, yet sinister, lights of London, to the deceptive haven of Italy's romantic Amalfi Coast, Cruel Venus is a suspense-filled story of love at its very best—and absolute worst.

    Dance While You Can

    Dance While You Can
    Elizabeth Sorrill, is the junior matron at Foxton’s elite School for Boys. Her attractions prove irresistible to Alexander Belmayne, the seventeen-year-old son of the Lord Chief Justice, but their passionate affair is short-lived as bitter lies and scandal force them apart. A chance meeting in London brings them together again, and their reunion leads to a breathtaking crime fired by an overwhelming obsession — a hatred so violent it knows no limits.

    Wicked Beauty

    Wicked Beauty
    Forbidden love, uncontrolled passion, and the ultimate exploitation of power rule in this thrilling romance that proves there is a crime worse than murder   Tim and Rachel Hendon are riding high on an ideal marriage and Tim's growing political success. As they celebrate yet another election victory, they have no idea that they are on the eve of a nightmare that is going to totally devastate their lives. After a high-profile murder, Tim's campaign manager Katherine Sumner has disappeared. Does this mean she is the killer—or will the information she has on top government officials make hers the next body to turn up on the coroner's table? Certain that Katherine is alive and in hiding, acclaimed reporter Laurie Forbes joins forces with Rachel Hendon to search out the truth behind one of the world's most secretive and dangerous organizations.

    Don't Let Me Go

    Don't Let Me Go
    A Novel
    In this follow-up to the riveting international bestseller No Child of Mine, author Susan Lewis delivers an emotionally complex novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—of reinvention, reconnection, and the deepest love that can bind two people together. Charlotte Nicholls can hardly believe it, but it seems she’s landed in paradise. Living in a cottage in a shady cove on the beautiful Bay of Islands, surrounded by the splendor of New Zealand, Charlotte revels in her new life. She and her nearly four-year-old daughter, Chloe, have started over, with the help of Charlotte’s birth mother, Anna, who has recently reentered Charlotte’s life after a twenty-six-year absence. Little Chloe is thriving in her new home, and despite lingering effects from a terrible trauma Chloe has suffered, Charlotte is hopeful that love will pull her through. And though their relationship is tentative, Charlotte and Anna are slowly rebuilding their trust after nearly a lifetime apart.   But the horrors of the past—both recent and long buried—are never far from Charlotte’s mind. And then their idyll is suddenly shattered, as a series of events is set in motion that Charlotte can neither control nor comprehend. It will take all of Charlotte’s strength to keep her little family together, in the face of a world that will do everything it can to tear them apart. Praise for Don’t Let Me Go   “An emotionally complex novel.”—USA Today “Unputdownable . . . a compelling blend of family dynamics, courtroom drama, and love story.”—Booklist “You know you’re in the hands of a master storyteller when you can’t bear the tension. Susan Lewis drops you into a nightmare where the best interests of a child collide with the law designed to protect her. The endearing little girl at the center of this poignant and gripping tale, as well as the brave protagonist, will win your heart.”—Diane Chamberlain, internationally bestselling author of The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes “A gripping tale that pulls you in from the first chapter to the end, Don’t Let Me Go is a read that will remind you just how precious children are.”—Romance Reviews Today Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

Favorite QuotesFROM THIS BOOK
Quote Cannot be Empty

Submitted quotes are usually posted within 48 hours

ThanksYour Quote Will be posted Shortly
Bookish