Search-icon

Ghosts of Albion: Accursed

By , (Author)

Paperback published by Del Rey (Random House Publishing Group)

have you read it? rate it!
Histogram_reset_icon
(1 REVIEW)
ADD TO MY SHELF
About This Book
Even death could not stop Britain’s greatest defenders.

In 1838, William and Tamara Swift inherit a startling legacy from their dying grandfather, transforming them into the Protectors of Albion, mystical defenders of the soul of England. But the shocked, neophyte sorcerers also inherit unique allies in their battle against the dark forces. Fighting alongside them are the famous–even infamous–Ghosts of Albion: Lord Byron, Queen Bodicea, and Lord Admiral Nelson.

When strange and hideous creatures appear in the slums of London, an unholy plague threatens to launch an epic battle that may rage all the way to Buckingham Palace . . . and beyond. Time is running out as William and Tamara must learn whether their friends will stand beside them, or seduce and betray them.

From Amber Benson, known for her dramatic portrayal of Tara in Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Christopher Golden, Bram Stoker Award—winning author of The Shadow Saga and Wildwood Road, comes a vengeful tale of demons, vampires, and ghosts set in nineteenth-century London. Based on the smash BBC Web series that took England by storm, Ghosts of Albion is a horror adventure laced with dark humor and darker lusts.
Show less
Even death could not stop Britain’s greatest defenders.

In 1838, William and Tamara Swift inherit a startling legacy from their dying grandfather, transforming them into the Protectors of Albion, mystical defenders of the soul of England. But the shocked, neophyte sorcerers also inherit unique allies in their battle against the dark forces. Fighting alongside them are the famous–even infamous–Ghosts of Albion: Lord Byron, Queen Bodicea, and Lord Admiral Nelson.

When strange and hideous creatures appear in the slums of London, an unholy plague threatens to launch an epic battle that may rage all the way to Buckingham Palace . . . and beyond. Time is running out as William and Tamara must learn whether their friends will stand beside them, or seduce and betray them.

From Amber Benson, known for her dramatic portrayal of Tara in Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Christopher Golden, Bram Stoker Award—winning author of The Shadow Saga and Wildwood Road, comes a vengeful tale of demons, vampires, and ghosts set in nineteenth-century London. Based on the smash BBC Web series that took England by storm, Ghosts of Albion is a horror adventure laced with dark humor and darker lusts.
Product Details
Paperback (400 pages)
Published: October 25, 2005
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Imprint: Del Rey
ISBN: 9780345471307
Other books byChristopher Golden
  • King of Hell

    King of Hell
    Peter Octavian's powerful sorcery guards his world against evil. Now he must go on a perilous journey to save those condemned to a fate worse than death itself… When Octavian called upon Gaea to rid the Earth of demons, her magic banished not only the demons but also the Shadows - vampires who had foresworn evil and fought alongside him, some for many years. Together with two unlikely companions - a wise-cracking goblin with the ability to walk the paths between worlds, and a demon changeling struggling to come to terms with what he is - Octavian sets out on what seems to be an impossible mission: to free his friends from Hell. There he finds some unexpected figures from his past - and an enemy of his own making, driven by an implacable hatred, whose power is equal to his own and whose quest for vengeance is personal… Praise for The Shadow Saga: 'Reading Of Saints and Shadows again, I was amazed how many elements now familiar in the vampire and thriller genres appeared in Saints first. Golden's imagination and expert plotting wove these elements into a startlingly original book, as exciting to read now as it was when it first appeared on the rack' Charlaine Harris Christopher Golden is the award-winning author of numerous dark fantasy novels and comic book mini-series for both adults and teens. He lives with his wife and family in Massachusetts. Visit him at www.christophergolden.com

    Sons of Anarchy Vol. 1

    Sons of Anarchy Vol. 1
    The first collection of the hit Sons of Anarchy comics based on the FX televisions series. Gun-smuggling outlaw bikers with complex pasts and gripping personalities. If you love “guys with guns” like we do, this is that genre at its most elevated. The BOOM! Studios' comic book ties into the FX crime drama about the Charming, CA Sons Of Anarchy motorcycle club. Written by novelist and frequent Hellboy collaborator Christopher Golden, the series tells a stand alone tale of a former member's return to the fold looking for help. The only people standing between Kendra and certain death are the Sons of Anarchy, and, for better or for worse, their most violent member, Sergeant-at-Arms Tig Trager, who lost his daughter at the end of season five.

    Dragon Secrets

    Dragon Secrets
    Timothy uses his powers for peacemaking in book two of the fantastical Magic Zero series from two New York Times bestselling authors. Timothy now knows that possessing no magical powers makes him very powerful indeed. Having defeated Nicodemus, Timothy travels to a war-torn dimension to help the Wurm—fierce magicians and warriors descended from an ancient dragon race. There is an age-old feud between the Wurm and the Parliament of Mages, and as Timothy investigates, he uncovers a deadly conspiracy. Further complicating matters is a mysterious girl who challenges the leadership of the Order of Alhazred, and the disconcerting fact that not only do mages continue to disappear…but someone is targeting Timothy as the villain. This second book in the Magic Zero quartet, originally known as the Outcast series, features a refreshed cover and an unforgettable adventure.

    Of Saints and Shadows

    Of Saints and Shadows
    Combine a Boston P.I., the Vatican, and vampires, and what do you have? A novel-and a series-that will appeal to fans of Jim Butcher, Charlaine Harris, and Dan Brown.

Favorite QuotesFROM THIS BOOK
Quote Cannot be Empty

Submitted quotes are usually posted within 48 hours

ThanksYour Quote Will be posted Shortly
Bookish