Search-icon

Enders

By

eBook published by Delacorte Press (Random House Children's Books)

Larger Image
have you read it? rate it!
Histogram_reset_icon
ADD TO MY SHELF
About This Book
The riveting conclusion to the sci-fi thriller STARTERS!
Someone is after Starters like Callie and Michael—teens with chips in their brains. They want to experiment on anyone left over from Prime Destinations—Starters who can be controlled and manipulated. With the body bank destroyed, Callie no longer has to rent herself out to creepy Enders. But Enders can still get inside her mind and make her do things she doesn't want to do. Like hurt someone she loves. Having the chip removed could save her life—but it could also silence the voice in her head that might belong to her father. Callie has flashes of her ex-renter Helena's memories, too . . . and the Old Man is back, filling her with fear. Who is real and who is masquerading in a teen body?

No one is ever who they appear to be, not even the Old Man. Determined to find out who he really is and grasping at the hope of a normal life for herself and her younger brother, Callie is ready to fight for the truth. Even if it kills her.

Adrenaline-fueled . . .  Fans of Starters will gobble this up.”—Booklist
 
“Delightfully disturbing.”—Kirkus Reviews
Show less
The riveting conclusion to the sci-fi thriller STARTERS!
Someone is after Starters like Callie and Michael—teens with chips in their brains. They want to experiment on anyone left over from Prime Destinations—Starters who can be controlled and manipulated. With the body bank destroyed, Callie no longer has to rent herself out to creepy Enders. But Enders can still get inside her mind and make her do things she doesn't want to do. Like hurt someone she loves. Having the chip removed could save her life—but it could also silence the voice in her head that might belong to her father. Callie has flashes of her ex-renter Helena's memories, too . . . and the Old Man is back, filling her with fear. Who is real and who is masquerading in a teen body?

No one is ever who they appear to be, not even the Old Man. Determined to find out who he really is and grasping at the hope of a normal life for herself and her younger brother, Callie is ready to fight for the truth. Even if it kills her.

Adrenaline-fueled . . .  Fans of Starters will gobble this up.”—Booklist
 
“Delightfully disturbing.”—Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
eBook (288 pages)
Published: January 7, 2014
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Imprint: Delacorte Press
ISBN: 9780307975249
Other books byLissa Price
  • Portrait of a Donor: A Starters Story

    Portrait of a Donor: A Starters Story
    A digital-only short story set in the STARTERS world, told from Briona's pov. STARTERS received rave reviews, including this from the Los Angeles Times: “The only thing better than a terrific concept is one that is as well executed as Starters. Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best, Starters is a terrific series kickoff with a didn't-see-that-coming conclusion that will leave readers on the edges of their seats . . .” Includes a sneak peek at the sequel to STARTERS, Lissa Price’s ENDERS, where Callie is ready to fight for the truth—even if it kills her.

    Starters

    Starters
    A riveting sci-fi dystopic thriller and series launch from the author of ENDERS. Callie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a cookie. Callie’s only hope is Prime Destinations, a disturbing place in Beverly Hills run by a mysterious figure known as the Old Man. He hires teens to rent their bodies to Enders—seniors who want to be young again. Callie, desperate for the money that will keep her, Tyler, and Michael alive, agrees to be a donor. But the neurochip they place in Callie’s head malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her renter. Callie soon discovers that her renter intends to do more than party—and that Prime Destinations’ plans are more evil than she could ever have imagined. . . . Includes Portrait of a Spore, a never-before-published short story that takes place in the world of STARTERS. PRAISE FOR STARTERS: “A bona fide page-turner.” —MTV.com “A smart, swift, inventive, altogether gripping story.” —DEAN KOONTZ   “Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best.” —Los Angeles Times   “Intriguing, thought-provoking and addictive.” —BookReporter.com   “Readers will stay hooked. . . . Constantly rising stakes keep this debut intense.” —Kirkus Reviews   “Fast-paced dystopian fiction. . . . The inevitable sequel can’t appear soon enough.” —Booklist   “Addictive and alluring.” —Examiner.com   “Chilling and riveting.” —Shelf-Awareness.com   “A must-read for fans of The Hunger Games and Legend. Fast-paced, romantic, and thought-provoking.” —Justine

    Portrait of a Starter: A Starters Story

    Portrait of a Starter: A Starters Story
    See how it starts for Callie and Michael in this digital-only short story set in the STARTERS world, told from Michael's pov. STARTERS received rave reviews, including this from the Los Angeles Times: “The only thing better than a terrific concept is one that is as well executed as Starters. Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best, Starters is a terrific series kickoff with a didn't-see-that-coming conclusion that will leave readers on the edges of their seats . . .”

    Portrait of a Marshal: A Starters Story

    Portrait of a Marshal: A Starters Story
    Are all Enders evil? Not quite. Go inside the mind of a Marshal in this digital-only short story set in the STARTERS world. STARTERS received rave reviews, including this from the Los Angeles Times: “The only thing better than a terrific concept is one that is as well executed as Starters. Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best, Starters is a terrific series kickoff with a didn't-see-that-coming conclusion that will leave readers on the edges of their seats . . .”

Favorite QuotesFROM THIS BOOK
Quote Cannot be Empty

Submitted quotes are usually posted within 48 hours

ThanksYour Quote Will be posted Shortly
Bookish