Search-icon

And Sons

By , (Narrator)

Audio Download published by Random House Digital (Random House Digital)

have you read it? rate it!
Histogram_reset_icon
ADD TO MY SHELF
About This Book
An intricately layered novel about a famous reclusive writer and his three sons finds their bond tested by the weight of long-held secrets and a cumbersome legacy shaped by boarding school, Hollywood and the elite circles of the publishing world. By the author of The Normals. Simultaneous.
Show less
An intricately layered novel about a famous reclusive writer and his three sons finds their bond tested by the weight of long-held secrets and a cumbersome legacy shaped by boarding school, Hollywood and the elite circles of the publishing world. By the author of The Normals. Simultaneous.
Product Details
Audio Download
Published: July 23, 2013
Publisher: Random House Digital
Imprint: Random House Digital
ISBN: 9780385359566
Other books byDavid Gilbert
  • And Sons

    And Sons
    A Novel
    NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • The New Yorker • The Austin Chronicle • Kansas City Star • The Guardian (UK) • BookPage • Flavorwire • Bookish Who is A. N. Dyer? & Sons is a literary masterwork for readers of The Art of Fielding, The Emperor’s Children, and Wonder Boys—the panoramic, deeply affecting story of an iconic novelist, two interconnected families, and the heartbreaking truths that fiction can hide. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.   The funeral of Charles Henry Topping on Manhattan’s Upper East Side would have been a minor affair (his two-hundred-word obit in The New York Times notwithstanding) but for the presence of one particular mourner: the notoriously reclusive author A. N. Dyer, whose novel Ampersand stands as a classic of American teenage angst. But as Andrew Newbold Dyer delivers the eulogy for his oldest friend, he suffers a breakdown over the life he’s led and the people he’s hurt and the novel that will forever endure as his legacy. He must gather his three sons for the first time in many years—before it’s too late.   So begins a wild, transformative, heartbreaking week, as witnessed by Philip Topping, who, like his late father, finds himself caught up in the swirl of the Dyer family. First there’s son Richard, a struggling screenwriter and father, returning from self-imposed exile in California. In the middle lingers Jamie, settled in Brooklyn after his twenty-year mission of making documentaries about human suffering. And last is Andy, the half brother whose mysterious birth tore the Dyers apart seventeen years ago, now in New York on spring break, determined to lose his virginity before returning to the prestigious New England boarding school that inspired Ampersand. But only when the real purpose of this reunion comes to light do these sons realize just how much is at stake, not only for their father but for themselves and three generations of their family.   In this daring feat of fiction, David Gilbert establishes himself as one of our most original, entertaining, and insightful authors. & Sons is that rarest of treasures: a startlingly imaginative novel about families and how they define us, and the choices we make when faced with our own mortality. NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE    “Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny.”—Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins   “Extraordinary.”—Time   “Smart and savage . . . Seductive and ripe with both comedy and heartbreak, [& Sons] made me reconsider my stance on . . . the term ‘instant classic.’”—NPR   “A big, ambitious book about fathers and sons, Oedipal envy and sibling rivalry, and the dynamics between art and life . . . [& Sons] does a wonderful job of conjuring up its characters’ memories . . . in layered, almost Proustian detail.”—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times   “[A] smart, engrossing saga . . . Perfect for fans of Jonathan Franzen or Claire Messud.”—Entertainment Weekly   “This great big novel is . . . infused with warmth and wisdom about what it means to be a family.”—The Boston Globe   “Audacious . . . [one of the year’s] most dazzlingly smart, fully realized works of fiction.”—The Washington Post

    Love and Struggle

    Love and Struggle
    My Life in SDS, the Weather Underground, and...
    Written from the maximum-security prison where he has lived for almost 30 years, this enlightening memoir chronicles the militant career of David Gilbert, a radical activist whose incarceration is due to his involvement in the 1981 Brinks robbery, an attempted expropriation that resulted in four deaths. From his entry into the world of political activism as the founder of Students for a Democratic Society at Columbia University to his departure from public life in order to help build the clandestine resistance to war and racism known as the Weathermen, Gilbert relates all of the victories he has achieved and obstacles he has encountered during his struggle to build a new world. In telling the intensely personal story he is stripped of all illusions and assesses his journey from liberal to radical to revolutionary with rare humor and frankness. A firsthand glimpse into the terrors and triumphs of the 1960s and beyond, Love and Struggle is as candid and uncompromising as its author.

    Remote Feed

    Remote Feed
    Stories
    “Gilbert’s dead-on mimicry of conversational rhythms makes even the most ludicrous exchanges sound plausible, and he applies physical details sparingly and potently…wickedly funny.” —Adam Goodheart, The New York Times Book Review The masterfully crafted stories that comprise Remote Feed mark the auspicious debut of a daring and remarkably perceptive writer. From war-torn Bosnia to a college sorority house to kill-or-be-killed Hollywood, David Gilbert uses bold prose and dark wit to paint a devastating picture of “normal” life on the brink of desperation and paranoia. His insights into the minor tragedies, disappointments, and desires that shape us reflect a deep understanding of human nature and a genuine compassion for his characters. Filled with startling twists, piercing irony, and layers of meaning, the world Gilbert creates in Remote Feed is a complex one—often hilarious, sometimes frightening, but always fascinating. “The short stories in David Gilbert’s Remote Feed speak volumes about the ways modern men seek adventure and comfort.” —Sara Nelson, Glamour “These stories are funny and thoroughly entertaining…Keep an eye on this guy David Gilbert.” —Mike Musgrove, The Washington Post

    The Normals

    The Normals
    A Novel
    With the millennium fast approaching, twenty-eight-year-old Harvard-educated Billy Schine finds himself without prospects, a balled-up bit of litter riding the boom of New York in the nineties. His classmates make millions on Wall Street and the Internet while Billy makes do with a series of temp jobs. He has a girlfriend, Sally Hu, but they're more of a couple by romantic default, sex the only commodity they're willing to trade in. Time flows by without consequence until one day Billy receives a letter from Ragnar & Sons, a collection agency seeking some satisfaction on three years of unpaid student loans. Death is mentioned as an alternative to payment. Now every passerby is a potential hitman, and Billy has to flee. But where? Not home to his unwell parents. Providence delivers Hargrove Anderson Medical, a pharmaceutical company looking for perfectly healthy "normals" to participate in Phase I studies of their latest experimental drugs. Billy signs up for a fourteen-day trial of Allevatrox, a new atypical antipsychotic for the treatment of schizophrenia. At first, little happens in the research center, the boredom punctuated only by twice-daily appointments with pills and needles. Within the group, battle stories are told from the healing fields of guinea pig, and Billy is pleased. He's rested and well-fed and possibly in love with the lone female in the study. Then the messy side effects hit, and everything changes. The normal world is turned upside-down, the real and unreal merging until spilled blood becomes the only proof of a beating heart. Through the sharp-eyed, self-doubting Billy Schine, David Gilbert exposes the crisis of the contemporary human condition: how to connect? As funny as it is profound, The Normals is a tour de force from a writer of astonishing intelligence and imagination.

Favorite QuotesFROM THIS BOOK
Quote Cannot be Empty

Submitted quotes are usually posted within 48 hours

ThanksYour Quote Will be posted Shortly
Bookish