Search-icon

Always and Forever

By

Paperback published by Laurel Leaf (Random House Children's Books)

have you read it? rate it!
Histogram_reset_icon
ADD TO MY SHELF
About This Book
Sixteen-year-old Melissa Austin has always worked hard to get what she wants. As the school year begins, her work is paying off: Her grades are up and she’s landed a coveted spot on the Brain Bowl team. She and her best friend, Jory Delaney, are determined to have the best junior year ever.

Then Melissa receives devastating news about her health. At first she refuses to accept the doctor’s diagnosis, but as her illness gets worse, she cannot deny the truth. Only with the loving support of her family, and especially Jory, can Melissa come to terms with the mysteries of living . . . and dying.
Show less
Sixteen-year-old Melissa Austin has always worked hard to get what she wants. As the school year begins, her work is paying off: Her grades are up and she’s landed a coveted spot on the Brain Bowl team. She and her best friend, Jory Delaney, are determined to have the best junior year ever.

Then Melissa receives devastating news about her health. At first she refuses to accept the doctor’s diagnosis, but as her illness gets worse, she cannot deny the truth. Only with the loving support of her family, and especially Jory, can Melissa come to terms with the mysteries of living . . . and dying.
Product Details
Paperback (352 pages)
Published: May 11, 2004
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Imprint: Laurel Leaf
ISBN: 9780553494198
Other books byLurlene McDaniel
  • The Year of Luminous Love

    The Year of Luminous Love
       In the vein of Eat, Pray, Love, but for teens, this inspirational novel is set against the backdrop of Tennessee horse country as well as the historic cities of Italy and the Italian countryside. The story unfolds as three teenage girls, recently graduated from high school, plan the next phase of their lives while dealing with immediate life issues. McDaniel subtly explores the many types of love the girls experience--including love for one's family, one's friends, and intimate love--and the sacrifices they choose to make (or not) for each of them.

    Angels Watching Over Me

    Angels Watching Over Me
    Happy Holidays!  Bah humbug.  "Happy" is not the way Leah Lewis-Hall would describe herself at the moment.  She's spending her twelve days of Christmas in an Indianapolis hospital, while her mother is thousands of miles away on a honeymoon with husband number five.  Leah went to the doctor with nothing more than a broken finger, but he ordered her to undergo some tests.  Now she's stuck in the hospital, alone.   Then Leah meets her hospital roommate, a young Amish girl named Rebekah, and her big family.  Cynical sixteen-year-old Leah has never known people like this before.  From Rebekah's handsome brother, Ethan, who can barely look Leah in the eye, to her kind older sister, Charity, the Amish family captivates Leah with its simple, loving ways.  When Leah receives frightening information about her condition, her new friends show her that miracles can happen.  And that sometimes angels appear in the most unexpected places. From the Paperback edition.

    Don't Die, My Love

    Don't Die, My Love
    Julie Ellis and Luke Muldenhower have always been school sweethearts. Now both are in high school and deeply in love. Luke, a talented football player, is almost certain to receive an athletic scholarship to a top college. And no matter what her parents say, wherever Luke goes, Julie intends to follow. When Luke can't shake what he thinks is a virus, Julie persuades him to see a doctor. Luke's test results are alarming, but Julie believes their love is stronger than anything. Can love survive, now and forever?

    Angel of Hope

    Angel of Hope
    When Heather Barlow returns from Africa, the joy she felt during her missionary trip fades.  She's still suffering from unresolved grief over the death of her friend Ian, and now that she's back home in the United States, she feels directionless.  And while Heather has changed a great deal, her family has not.  She is discouraged to see that her sister, Amber, seems no more mature than when Heather left, her parents no less involved with a medical practice that caters to the wealthy. Heather's sense of purpose is renewed when she persuades her mother to travel with her back to Uganda to try to save the baby she rescued on her mission trip.  But when Heather becomes ill and cannot undertake the journey, Amber agrees to go in her place.  Now Amber must emerge from her sister's shadow to grapple with the age-old question, "Am I my brother's keeper?"

Favorite QuotesFROM THIS BOOK
Quote Cannot be Empty

Submitted quotes are usually posted within 48 hours

ThanksYour Quote Will be posted Shortly
Bookish